A husband slaps his wife during a heated argument. A man intervenes in a bar fight and punches another man to protect his friend from serious injury. A severely intoxicated woman strikes a police officer while they are trying to arrest her for OWI/DUI. A teenager threatens his teacher with a knife. A store owner shoots a customer.
All of these scenarios involve an assault and/or an assault and battery. Some will be prosecuted as a crime, others might not. Assault charges range from simple misdemeanor assault to felonious assault with intent to cause great bodily harm. Because the facts and circumstances of each alleged assault differ, each case will require an individually tailored defense strategy.
If you have been charged with assault and battery, you need an attorney who will take the time to investigate the circumstances surrounding your arrest and who will explain your defense options. To discuss your assault charges with one of our experienced assault defense lawyers, call 800-452-1761 or contact us online.
At the Coppins Law Group, PLLC, we defend clients against a variety of assault charges, including:
This is a misdemeanor offense, which is punishable by up to 93 days in jail and a $500 fine.
This charge is for an assault without a weapon that results in an aggravated injury. It is also a misdemeanor crime in Michigan and is punishable by up to one year in jail and a $1,000 fine.
These felony assault charges (assault with intent to maim or assault with intent to cause great bodily harm) are both felonies punishable by up to 10 years in prison and a $5,000 fine.
Domestic assault charges will be filed if the alleged victim is a spouse, ex-spouse, significant other, someone you live with or someone with whom you have a child. The sentences, if you are convicted of domestic abuse or assault, are greater than other types of assault. Domestic assault convictions may also affect immigration status and impact other civil liberties.
If an assault involved the use of a weapon, the sentence will be greater. If you have prior assault convictions on your criminal record, the penalties if you are convicted will likely be even harsher because of Michigan’s laws permitting “enhanced” sentences based on your prior record.
We also defend clients who have been arrested for or charged with sexual assault.
If you have been accused of assault, domestic violence, armed robbery or another violent crime, we will work hard to protect your constitutional rights, including your right to a fair trial and your right to confront witnesses.
If you hire our criminal defense attorneys, we won’t automatically plea bargain your assault charge. When possible, we see to it that criminal charges are reduced or dismissed. If together we make the decision to go to court, we will vigorously challenge everything about the prosecution’s case. If we decide that your case is better resolved without a trial, we will work to negotiate the best possible plea agreement and sentence agreement possible.
Contact us to discuss your assault or domestic violence charges in a free initial consultation with an attorney you can trust.